Home |  Contact |  Guestbook |  Print Window |   RSS | 

   

     This drawing was made in Singapore in 1997. I was told that it means 'Good Fortune'. Click for the explanation.    

 

 

Holiday Guernsey 1998 page

 

 

 

 

 

 

      




This year we spend our holiday on the British Channel Isle "Guernsey". The holiday started with a car trip from home to St Malo France. This is a trip of 830km. We left early in the morning. Due to an old map we arrived in St Malo 10 minutes to late. We were lucky that they waited for us. As soon as we boarded the ferry left.

Emeraude Ferries parent company Sogestran have been unable to source an acceptable vessel for the 2006 season, and have therefore been forced to make the difficult decision to close Emeraude without further delay.

We stayed at the Captain Cook hotel in Saint Peter Port (St Peter Port) Hautville street. The shower was broken in the first room. The second room was noisy. The breakfast was ok.


The is the Victor Hugo House (Hautville House) is located also in the Hautville street. In 1851 Victor Hugo left France for an exile which would last 19 years. On 16 may 1856, Victor Hugo bought Hautville House in Guernsey. In 1878 he completed many of his masterpieces, including Les Miserables.


A view of St Peter Port from the sea. St Peter Port is the capital of Guernsey, as well as the main port of the island.


The Saint's bay.


We walked a very nice cliff path from Petit Bot Bay to Saint's bay.




The Little chapel has a rich history. The chapel is situated in the beautiful Les Vauxbelets valley in St. Andrew. The Blanchelande Girls' College school has taken over the guardianship of the Little Chapel. Everyone connected with Blanchelande works hard to keep the Little Chapel clean and tidy and in good repair.



The smallest chapel in the world and a sight to behold, St Andrews's unique Little Chapel was the life work of Brother Deodat, who attempted to create a miniature version of the famous grotto and basilica at Lourdes in France. After the Second World War, Brother Cephas completed the chapel in his place as a labour of love, decorating the interior and exterior with a combination of shells, pebbles, glass and broken china.



.


Situated near the famous Little Chapel you will find the 'Guernsey Clockmakers', see a wide range of clocks and barometers being made in the workshop and purchase from their shop.


.


A typical Guernsey house.


Try to visit a fair, if there is one. It is a unique experience.


This is the Moulin Huet bay. It was made famous by the artist Renoir, who painted it many times. Listen to the blowhole booming as the water explodes skywards. In the nearby leafy valley, buy porcelain at the Moulin Huet Pottery centre.



Try to find this stone frog. Please let me know what the location is.



The headline at Fort Sausmarez overlooks the island Lihou, L'Eree Bay and Perelle Bay.



The table des Piones (Fairy Ring) from the Norman times until the early 19th century. Officials on horseback would rest here during their triennial inspections of the island's roads and defenses.


We took the ferry to the island Herm. Herm Island is 3 miles from the coast of Guernsey and measures just a mile and a half long and half a mile wide. Herm is the perfect place to stay for a truly relaxing island holiday.


Once on our paradise island enjoy our beautiful unspoilt beaches and safe, clean pollution-free environment. There are no cars, no crowds and definitely no stress.


Lihou Island is beautiful and the most westerly point in the Channel Islands. The Island was purchased by the States of Guernsey in January 1995. The house was shelled during the German Occupation of the Channel Islands during World War II. Lihou Island is linked to Guernsey at low-tide by a quarter mile causeway from L'Erée headland. A list of causeway opening times must be consulted before a visit to the island. Opening times for the causeway are also posted at either end of the causeway, published in the Guernsey Evening Press and broadcast by BBC Radio Guernsey. The height of the tide may vary due to atmospheric pressure and other weather conditions, so it is advisable to be cautious and leave the island at least 20 minutes before the causeway is due to close When it is you can walk to the island Lihou Island.


In 1947 King George VI presented Castle Cornet to the Islanders of Guernsey as a gift in token of their loyalty during the two World Wars. Since that time it has been maintained and developed as a museum by the States of Guernsey. This the Castle Cornet seen at night.




 

 

 

 

Last updated:

© Copyright 2006-2016 ronaldsnoeck.com |  Disclaimer |  Privacy